Only in America would you get a text like this one from a neighbour:

fullsizerender2

To be fair – it is Halloween. But this is not the kind of neighbourhood where people borrow each other’s intimate underwear (thankfully). No one wanted one of these:

1944-lingerie-23-801x631

What they wanted were braces. By which I do not mean these:

braces-teeth-cost

I mean these:

jjsuspenders-men-suspenders-4

Which left me wondering what these are called over here, if not suspenders…

1944-lingerie-23-801x631

And they are called a garter belt.

Which made me think of this:

order-of-garter

Now that’s a long way from those:

1944-lingerie-23-801x631

But the Queen here is wearing robes as a member of the Order of the Garter which is one of those British things that you grow up hearing about but really not having a clue what it is. So I have done some highly superficial research and from the Encyclopaedia Brittanica I have learned that the Order of the Garter began in the 14th when Edward III gallantly picked up and wore a garter which had fallen from his dancing partner’s leg. Here he is in his Order of the Garter get-up:

edward_iii_of_england_order_of_the_garter

All which is a long way to go from someone wanting braces/suspenders for a Halloween costume. But I liked it.

