L is for Lovey

A quick post. Yesterday morning I received a text message that said this:

photo

…and I had not a scooby-doo what my friend was on about. Clearly, since she had corrected layer, the rest of it was what she intended to say. But what the heck did it mean??

After all, say the word “lovey” to me (I’d probably spell it “luvvie”) and I immediately think of this chap:

dickie

Or maybe these two:

olivier guilgud

Or perhaps this wonderful chap whom Child 1 and I saw in Twelfth Night on Broadway last year:

fry

And it turns out that I’d be spot on with Stephen Fry, because it seems he has a lot to answer for when it comes to the word ‘luvvie’ (a less than flattering term for an actor in case that’s not already clear). Here is Emma Thompson (candidate for female luvvie?) setting the record straight.

But of course none of this helps with my text message. The lovey in question yesterday morning was not a gushing thespian but a half-toy/half blanket creature that might be called a ‘blankie’ in the UK. To be honest, none of our kids had one so I’m not 100% sure about that, but if you input lovey into Amazon.co.uk you get a novel, whereas if you put in blankie you get a lovey. There. I rest my case. Here’s the kind of thing I’m on about:

lovey

Cute really. And certainly emergency-worthy.

One last note about luvvies though. In Britain there is a satirical magazine called Private Eye that runs a column with quotes from actors expressing their luvvi-ness. Here is my personal favourite…

luvvies

3 thoughts on “L is for Lovey

Leave a Reply

