File:San Francisco salt water taffy.jpg

A taffy is a chew. I think I had almost forgotten the word chew for a chewy sweet (candy over here, of course) but I can’t put it more simply or clearly. They come in lots of flavours and colours and of course the kids love them because they are made of nothing but corn syrup, glycerin and butter. Yum. Also very popular is Salt-water Taffy, a similar product which, interestingly, has no salt-water in it whatsoever. More on that later.

For now, UK taffy equivalents that spring to mind are – mmm, Drumsticks…

https://i1.wp.com/img.dooyoo.co.uk/GB_EN/orig/0/7/5/3/9/753943.jpg

… and also Fruit Salad and Blackjacks which my brother and I used to buy for half pence a chew at the paper shop at Morningside station on the way to catch the number 5 bus home from school. I seem to remember not really liking the Blackjacks but always getting a few anyway. Why was that, I wonder?

fruitsalad

